Skip to content

Charnwood Sports Awards finalists are revealed

The finalists for this year’s Charnwood Sports Awards have been announced.

The awards ceremony, organised by Charnwood Borough Council, received 80 individual nominations, the highest number received on record.

Judges have now selected finalists in all 12 categories.

Chris Traill, Strategic Director for Neighbourhoods and Community Wellbeing said: “It’s been really difficult to narrow down the finalists, as we have so many talented sporting individuals, clubs, coaches and volunteers in the borough. I’d like to thank everyone who has entered.

“Charnwood has long had ties with sporting success on a local, national and international level and these awards are not only a great way to celebrate those achievements, but also recognise the people who make it happen behind the scenes.

“Good luck to all the finalists.”

The categories recognise the achievements of junior and senior athletes, coaches, volunteers and individual projects.

Last year’s winners included junior triathlete Ben Dijkstra and Mountsorrel Juniors Under 12’s.

This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Monday, December 4 at Burleigh Court, Loughborough.

You can keep up to date with the action on the night by following the hashtag #CharnSports on Twitter.

The finalists are:

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Victoria Johnson
William Bell
Beatrice Hill

Junior Volunteer of the Year

Jodie Findley
Lorraine Wright
Emma Garner

Junior Team of the Year

Loughborough Emmanuel Lions U7
Loughborough Town Cricket Club U15s
Charnwood Cycling Club

Outstanding Contribution to School Sports

Ashmount Staff Team
Burton on the Wolds Primary School
Izzy Perry

Senior Sportsperson of the Year

Adam Hames
James Teagle
Ben Dijkstra

Senior Volunteer of the Year

Daniel Powell
Gary Bailey
Liz Hyde

Senior Team of the Year

Loughborough Futsal Development Team
The Michael Smith Challenge Team
Poplar Running Clun Ladies Team

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Joseph Ballantyne
Sophie Hahn
Daniel Powell

Club of the Year

Sileby Town Cricket Club
Poplar Running Club
Loughborough Foxes Women and Girls FC

Coach of the Year

Andy O’Brien
Mark Barber
Stuart Walker

Outstanding Contribution to Sport and Physical Activity

Ann Bullock
Darryl Hughes
Mark Forknall

Best Community Sport and Physical Activity Project

Carrilon Kurlers
Loughborough Green Gym
Shepshed Walking for Health Group

Share this page:

Back to top