Skip to content

Charnwood Sports Awards 2017 winners announced

  • Sports Awards 2017

Local sporting stars have been honoured at the annual Charnwood Sports Awards ceremony, 2017.

The awards ceremony, organised by Charnwood Borough Council, involved 35 shortlisted groups and individuals who were celebrated at Burleigh Court, Loughborough on Monday, December 4.

Loughborough Town Cricket Club U15s were crowned Junior Team of the Year, while Ann Bullock took home the award for Outstanding Contribution to Sport and Physical Activity.

Ann, who is the walk leader at Shepshed and Dishley Grange Walking for Health Groups said: “I’m really shocked but very pleased to have been nominated. There are so many wonderful people in walking for health groups, so it’s really an honour to be here.

“I feel I’m representing everybody who’s involved in the groups, all 54 walkers from Dishley and over 40 from Shepshed.”

Other winners included Team GB triathlete Ben Dijkstra who won Senior Sportsperson of the Year, Loughborough Futsal Development Team who were crowned Senior Team of the Year and Sophie Hahn, Paralympic and world champion, who won Disabled Sportsperson of the Year.

Runners-up included Charnwood Cycling Club who were nominated for Junior Team of the Year. 

Wayne Brewin from the club said: “It’s really exciting to have been nominated as we’ve only been going around 18 months.

“A lot of the riders are new to cycling so this is a really exciting development for the club.”

Councillor Brian Page, the Council’s Lead Member for Communities, Safety and Wellbeing, said: “These awards are a fantastic way to recognise the talented athletes, coaches, teams and volunteers we have in the borough.

“I’m pleased to say that the night was a great success once again and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone who attended.

“It’s an honour to be involved and to celebrate our local sporting heroes. I’d like to congratulate all nominees and winners on their achievement.”

The categories recognised the achievements of junior and senior athletes, coaches, volunteers and individual projects.

The event was sponsored by Kangaroo UK, Fusion, HittheStreet, idverde, Loughborough College, Active Charnwood Alliance, Team Charnwood, LRS Sport, Odyssey, Sports Trader, Serco and Loughborough University.

The winners and finalists were:

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Victoria Johnson
William Bell - WINNER
Beatrice Hill

Junior Volunteer of the Year

Jodie Findley
Lorraine Wright - WINNER
Emma Garner

 Junior Team of the Year

Loughborough Emmanuel Lions U7
Loughborough Town Cricket Club U15s - WINNER
Charnwood Cycling Club

Outstanding Contribution to School Sports

Ashmount Staff Team
Burton on the Wolds Primary School
Izzy Perry - WINNER

Senior Sportsperson of the Year

Adam Hames
James Teagle
Ben Dijkstra - WINNER

Senior Volunteer of the Year

Daniel Powell
Gary Bailey
Liz Hyde - WINNER

Senior Team of the Year

Loughborough Futsal Development Team - WINNER
The Michael Smith Challenge Team
Poplar Running Clun Ladies Team

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Joseph Ballantyne
Sophie Hahn - WINNER
Daniel Powell

Club of the Year

Sileby Town Cricket Club - WINNER
Poplar Running Club
Loughborough Foxes Women and Girls FC

Coach of the Year

Andy O’Brien
Mark Barber - WINNER
Stuart Walker

Outstanding Contribution to Sport and Physical Activity

Ann Bullock - WINNER
Darryl Hughes
Mark Forknall

Best Community Sport and Physical Activity Project

Carrilon Kurlers
Loughborough Green Gym
Shepshed Walking for Health Group - WINNER

Share this page:

Back to top