Skip to Content

Councils' joint statement on local government in Leicestershire

  • Charnwood logo news banner

The seven district councils in Leicestershire have issued a joint statement following the publication of a document by the county council regarding local government structure in Leicestershire.

The statement, issued on behalf of Blaby, Charnwood, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Melton, North West Leicestershire and Oadby and Wigston district and borough councils, says: “The seven district councils in Leicestershire continue to work collaboratively to deliver highly-effective and efficient services to residents.

“Proposed changes to the structure of local government in Leicestershire failed to receive support last year from district councils or MPs.

“It is our view that better and cheaper services can be delivered through greater collaboration while keeping services local to the people who use them. There is an open invitation to the County Council to work with us on ideas for future collaboration.”