Skip to Content

Charnwood Sports Awards Winners 2019

Our Customer Service Centre on Southfield Road is now open for essential enquiries by appointment only. Please be aware that it is mandatory for face coverings to be worn on the premises. More information, including how to make an appointment, can be found in this news story.

The Charnwood Sports Awards took place on Monday December 2, 2019.

See below for the full list of winners and runners-up:

Best Community Sport / Physical Activity Project

Winner: LEAP and LEAP Maintainers
Runners up: Gemma Jones (MJFC Ladies), Pauline Young

John Sutherington Club of the Year

Winner: Loughborough Badminton Club
Runners up: Rothley Park Cricket Club, Shepshed Running Club

Coach of the Year

Winner: Laura Buddle
Runners up: Paul Nicholls, Krumesh Patel

Junior Sportsperson of the Year 

Winner: Sophie Watson and Will Bell
Runner up: Thomas Giles

Junior Team of the Year

Winner: Charnwood College Riders
Runners up: Barrow Town Eagles U9 Football Team, Loughborough Foxes U12 Football Team

Outstanding Contribution to Sport, Physical Activity and School Sport

Winner: Dishley Park Run
Runners up: Aimee Merison, Gorse Covert Health Walk

Senior Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Karim Chan
Runners up: Joe Heyes, Katie Boulter

Senior Team of the Year

Winner: Loughborough Lawn Tennis Club Ladies 1st Team
Runners up: Charnwood Tennis Women's 1st Team, Poplar Football Club

Junior and Senior Volunteer of the Year

Junior Winner: Holly Shepherd
Winner: Dan Turner
Runners up (Senior): Ann Bullock, Sam James

Joe Humphries Special Recognition Award 2019

Winner: Jesse Dufton
Runners up: Joe Ballantyne, Sue Reynolds

Judges Panel Special Recognition Award 2019

Winner: Molly Webb and Loughborough Foxes U12 Football Team

Photographs from the event can be found on the Charnwood Borough Council Facebook page.

Share this page:

Last updated: