Skip to Content

COVID-19 alert tiers

Our Customer Service Centre on Southfield Road is now open for essential enquiries by appointment only. Please be aware that it is mandatory for face coverings to be worn on the premises. More information, including how to make an appointment, can be found in this news story.

The Government confirmed a new tier system will be implemented across England on October 12, replacing the existing restrictions.

The new tier system is identified below:

Level 1 (medium) 

This will be the level which incorporates the current national restrictions, including the rule of six and the 10pm curfew on hospitality, and will currently cover the majority of the country.

Level 2 (high) 

This will see people prevented from socialising with other households indoors. The rule of six will apply outdoors. The Prime Minister stated that of the areas already living under local restrictions will move into this category. Nottinghamshire, East and West Cheshire and a small area of High Peak will also move to this level due to rising infection rates. People will be advised to reduce the number of journeys they make where possible.

Level 3 (very high) 

At this level, people will not be able to socialise with other households both indoors and in private gardens and bars/pubs will be closed unless they can operate as restaurants, serving alcohol only as part of a meal. Wedding receptions are not allowed, and people will be advised to avoid non-essential travel in and out of these areas. People should avoid staying overnight in another part of the UK if they are resident in a ‘very high’ area, or avoid staying overnight in these areas if they are resident elsewhere.

What level is Charnwood currently at?

Charnwood is currently at Level 1 (medium), which means the rule of six applies, and there is a 10pm curfew on hospitality establishments. Full details on the restrictions can be found on the poster below:

If the level changes in the coming weeks, this webpage will be updated.

Postcode checker

The Government has issued a postcode checker for residents to check the alert level in their area.

Use the Government's postcode checker

Share this page:

Last updated: Wed 14th October, 2020 @ 12:48