Skip to content

Reforms to mandatory HMO licensing are underway

Landlords NewsletterThe Government is planning to make changes to increase the number of properties subject to mandatory HMO licensing.

This will further enable local authorities to tackle poor standards and the problems being seen in high-risk smaller properties as the sector has grown.

The following changes are being proposed:

  • Remove the storey rule so all houses (regardless of how many floors) with 5 or more people from 2 or more households need to be licenced
  • Extend mandatory licensing to flats above and below business premises (regardless of the number of storeys) - as the evidence shows there more problems in these properties
  • Set a minimum room size of 6.52sq m in line with the existing overcrowding standard (Housing Act 1985) to close a loophole recently created by an upper-tier tribunal ruling which is enabling some landlords to let rooms far too small for an adult to legally occupy.

Further  details are contained on this government website.

Share this page:

Last updated:

Back to top