Skip to Content

Charnwood Community Heroes

Our Customer Service Centre on Southfield Road is now open for essential enquiries by appointment only. Please be aware that it is mandatory for face coverings to be worn on the premises. More information, including how to make an appointment, can be found in this news story.

Nominations for Charnwood Community Heroes 2020 are open from October 1, 2020 until November 30, 2020.

The Charnwood Community Heroes awards, run by Charnwood Borough Council, are a chance to thank people, groups and organisations who have carried out a good deed – no matter how small or large – in our community.

It could be someone who has helped a neighbour, raised funds or is always there for others. Or it could be a group, organisation or business which has carried out some excellent work in the past 12 months.

There are nine categories to enter plus the Harry Cook award, which is decided by Harry's family and will be presented in memory of the Loughborough in Bloom stalwart.

There isn’t a specific COVID-19 category, but we welcome nominations in each of the categories for those that have gone above and beyond during the pandemic.

View the categories

COVID-19 has meant that the award presentation will be a virtual event this year, presented on the Charnwood Community Heroes and Charnwood Borough Council's Facebook pages on Saturday, December 12, 2020 at a time to be confirmed.

Please visit the Facebook pages for regular updates.

All we need is for people to nominate their heroes.

The nine open categories are: Young Hero; Super Trooper; Good Neighbour; Inspiring Others; Green Hero; Business Community Action; Top Team; Beyond the Call of Duty; and Brilliant Board/Trustee Member.

You can also keep up to date with the latest Charnwood Community Heroes news by following the Council on Twitter @CharnwoodBC and look for the hashtag #CommunityHeroes2020. Or visit the Charnwood Community Heroes Facebook page:

Thanks to our supporters


EEM is a not-for-profit procurement consortium, set up to generate efficiencies for its membership through collaboration, aggregated volumes, quality products and high-level service delivery. The Council has procured numerous services via EEM and the company has awarded the Council a community contribution which is being used to support the event. For more information, please visit

Share this page:

Last updated: Thu 1st October, 2020 @ 08:42