The role of the Local Land Charges Service is to to maintain and update the Local Land Charges Register, the issue of official certificates of search and con 29 enquiry replies.

The Local Land Charges search and Con 29 Enquiries are an integral part of the conveyance process and therefore it is important that we provide an efficient and responsive service.

The process is fully automated and results are produced by the Land Charges computerised system. Steady improvements to the system have resulted in the service being able to receive and dispatch search applications through the National Land Information Service (NLIS).

Property and personal searches

All the district and borough authorities within Leicestershire along with Leicester City Council and Leicestershire County Council have worked together to form the LeicesterShire Land & Property Searches partnership. For more information or to submit a Local Land Charge Search, please visit:

A personal search is carried out at our council offices in person and allows you to inspect and make notes from a printed report of all the entries held on our Local Land Charges Register against a parcel of land. The report we provide is a copy of the raw data only - it is unchecked, unverified and unofficial. As a result, it is up to the person inspecting the personal search to record any information they feel is relevant. We are unable to provide advice or interpret these results.

Before attending our council offices to carry out a personal search, it is necessary to call us on one of the following phone numbers to make an appointment.

Tel: 01509 634516.

A personal search only consists of a search of the Local Land Charges registers and no replies will be given to the Con 29 enquiries.

A list of areas covered by Charnwood Local Land Charges

  • Anstey
  • Barkby
  • Barkby Thorpe
  • Barrow upon Soar
  • Beeby
  • Birstall
  • Burton on the Wolds
  • Cossington
  • Cotes
  • Cropston
  • East Goscote
  • Hathern
  • Hoton
  • Loughborough
  • Mountsorrel
  • Newtown Linford
  • Prestwold
  • Queniborough
  • Quorn
  • Ratcliffe on the Wreake
  • Rearsby
  • Rothley
  • Seagrave
  • Shepshed
  • Sileby
  • South Croxton
  • Swithland
  • Syston
  • Thrussington
  • Thurcaston
  • Thurmaston
  • Ulverscroft
  • Walton on the Wolds
  • Wanlip
  • Woodhouse
  • Woodhouse Eaves
  • Wymeswold

Last updated: Mon 13th March, 2023 @ 09:13