Skip to Content

Private landlords

Our Customer Service Centre on Southfield Road is now open for essential enquiries by appointment only. Please be aware that it is mandatory for face coverings to be worn on the premises. More information, including how to make an appointment, can be found in this news story.

Private landlords, lettings agents and managing agents have certain rights and responsibilities. 

DASH Landlord Accreditation Scheme

Charnwood Borough Council works in partnership with the DASH landlord accreditation scheme.

  • DASH promotes good housing so tenants of DASH accredited landlords can expect a responsible landlord with better housing standards, quick repairs and maintenance and fair tenancy agreements.
  • Landlords benefit from a market advantage, resource materials and training, as well as inclusion on the DASH register of accredited landlords and reduced HMO licensing fees.

Register to the DASH accreditation scheme, find out more about DASH or have a look at Shelter's good practice guide for landlord accreditation for more information.        

DASH Resources – where housing professionals, landlords and property managers can find a host of publications.

Houses in Multiple Occupation

If you are the landlord of a House in Multiple Occupation (or HMO), please visit our separate Licensable HMO page for further details as to the mandatory license that large HMOs are required to have.

Electrical Safety Standards in the Private Rented Sector

From June 1, 2020, the Electrical Safety Regulations 2020 require private landlords in England to have the electrical installation in their rental properties checked by a qualified electrician to ensure that they are safe.

This means that:

  • Electrical installations must be inspected and tested prior to the start of a new tenancy from July 1, 2020
  • Checks must be carried out on any existing tenancies by April 1, 2021
  • These checks must then be carried out on a five yearly basis
  • A copy of the most recent electrical safety condition report (EICR) must be provided to both new and retained tenants
  • Where the report shows that remedial or further investigative work is necessary, this must be completed within 28 days (or any shorter period as specified in the report) and written confirmation of the completion of the remedial works from the electrician must be supplied to the tenant and the local authority within 28 days of completion.

See the Guide for Landlords on Electrical Safety Standards in the Private Rented Sector for full details of the requirements and the properties that they apply to.

When providing written confirmation of the completion of remedial works to a rented property within Charnwood, please forward this information to:

Landlord e-newsletter

Our landlord e-newsletter contains lots of useful information specially designed for private landlords. Please fill in the form below to register.

Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards in Domestic Private Rented Property

From April 1, 2020, all residential privately rented property which are required to have an EPC will need to meet minimum energy efficiency standards.

The Domestic Minimum Energy Efficiency Standard (MEES) Regulations set a minimum energy efficiency level for domestic private rented properties. 

MEES came into force in England and Wales on 1 April 2018 and applies to all domestic private rented properties that are let on an assured tenancy, a regulated tenancy or a domestic agricultural tenancy and which are legally required to have an Energy Performance Certificate (EPC).

From April 1, 2018, all properties let on a new tenancy (with a new or existing tenant) need to have a minimum EPC rating of E, or register an exemption, before they enter into the new tenancy or renew an existing tenancy.

If a current tenancy period started before April 1, 2018 and runs until at least April 1, 2020, the landlord and property owner has until April 1, 2020 to improve the rating of properties with an EPC rating of F or G, to a minimum EPC rating of E, or register an exemption, before they enter into the new tenancy or renew an existing tenancy.

Where a Local Authority identified a property which breaches the regulations, a civil penalty of up to £4,000 may be imposed.

There are exemptions from the requirements, for further details on these and the cost cap on funding improvements to your property, please visit:

If you have any queries regarding the Regulations, please E-Mail the Private Sector Housing Team at:

Share this page:

Last updated: Tue 28th July, 2020 @ 16:10