This council exists to serve the needs of our local residents and those working in, or visiting, the area.

We work according to the rules set out in the council constitution and provide a democratic local government offering a wide range of services.

Our policies on how we deliver these services are decided by 52 councillors, each of whom is elected for a period of four years. The borough is divided into 28 wards, each having one, two or three councillors depending on its size.

Charnwood Borough Council is currently controlled by the Conservative Group, the 52 seats being broken down as follows:

The majority of our staff are based at our Southfields offices in Loughborough and they manage the day-to-day running of our services.

Council decisions

Most of our major council decisions are made by the Cabinet, which consists of councillors from the party in control. The Cabinet meets every four weeks or so and is made up of the Council Leader plus nine other appointed councillors.

The full council also meets regularly, as do the various council committees which have scrutiny, member conduct or regulatory functions. The dates and times of all meetings are published on our website, as are agendas and minutes.

You can find all this information at our website.

A Mayor is chosen annually to fulfil two important roles, firstly to chair the meetings and secondly to attend around 500 engagements as the First Citizen of the Borough.


Each year we set a budget which balances the cost of the services we provide - such as refuse collection, leisure facilities, housing and benefits - with the income from sources such as Council Tax, rents and government grants. Our priorities are set out in its Corporate Plan.

Our electoral services team organises the annual canvass and update for the Register of Electors, together with the organisation of parish council, borough council, county council, parliamentary, European parliamentary elections and referenda held within Charnwood.

Last updated: Fri 18th October, 2019 @ 15:38