Skip to Content

General election results, 2019

Due to essential maintenance being carried out by Pay360, customers may experience online payment disruptions on Sunday July 5 between 4:30-6:30am and Tuesday July 7 between 6-7am. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Residents in Leicester and its outlying areas, including Birstall, Thurmaston and Wanlip in Charnwood, are to be asked to continue to follow stricter lockdown restrictions for at least two weeks, and non-essential shops will be closed. More information - including frequently asked questions and a postcode checker - can be found at

The general election results for Charnwood and Loughborough, December 12, 2019, are below.

Charnwood Constituency

Edward Argar (Conservative) - 35,121 votes
Gary Godden (Labour) - 12,724 votes
Laurie Needham (Green) - 2,664 votes
Kate Tipton (Liberal Democrats) - 4,856 votes

Edward Argar is duly elected for Charnwood

  • Electorate: 79,556
  • Ballot Papers: 55,631
  • % Poll: 69.9%

Loughborough Constituency

Here’s the General Election result for the Loughborough constituency:

Stuart Brady (Labour) – 20,785 votes
Jane Hunt (Conservative) – 27,954 votes
Ian Sharpe (Liberal Democrats) – 4,153 votes
Queenie Tea (Independent) – 235 votes
Wes Walton (Green) – 1,504 votes

Jane Hunt is duly elected for Loughborough

  • Electorate: 79,776
  • Ballot Papers: 54,860
  • % Poll: 68.8%
Share this page:

Last updated: